Skip to Main Content

Michael assists clients with appellate proceedings, complex litigation and high-stakes regulatory disputes.

He regularly advises organizations on constitutional, statutory and procedural issues, including the First Amendment, the Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), the False Claims Act (FCA), class certification, federal jurisdiction, immunity and due process.

Michael has specific experience navigating litigation and challenging regulatory compliance matters for colleges and universities, including Titles IV, VI and IX of the Higher Education Act, First Amendment free-speech protections for students and faculty, and student discipline. He has worked with both public and private institutions to achieve successful resolutions.

As a former federal appellate law clerk, Michael maintains a robust appellate practice, counseling clients through all stages of appeals including briefing and oral argument. He has helped clients secure significant judgments in federal and state appellate courts throughout the country. Michael also drafts amicus briefs in important appellate cases, assisting organizations in having their voices heard on critical legal issues.

Before attending law school, Michael was an investment analyst at an asset-management firm that focused on investments in China. While there, he focused on evaluating the current operations and growth plans for numerous businesses, providing him a unique perspective when advising on business and finance disputes. Michael has assisted businesses and organizations of all sizes, from startups to Fortune 500 public companies and major research institutions, defending their interests in contract disputes, trade-secret litigation and consumer disputes.




  • Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch, Commercial Litigation, 2021
  • Missouri Lawyers Weekly, Up & Coming Award, 2018
  • Kansas Bar Association, 2018 Kansas Bar Association Pro Bono Award
  • Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers, Rising Star, Appellate, 2015-2019
  • Education Law Association, August Steinhilber Award for Outstanding Brief in Education Law, 2017
  • Missouri Pro Bono Wall of Fame, 2014-2018


  • J.D., University of Texas School of Law
    • with high honors
    • Texas Law Review, Editor-in-Chief
    • Order of the Coif
    • Supreme Court Clinic, 2011-2012
    • ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition, national semifinalist team, 2011
    • Thad T. Hutcheson Moot Court Competition, champion, 2010
  • B.S., University of Kansas
    • with distinction
    • Business
    • Frank T. Stockton Award
    • KU School of Business, top senior finance student


  • Missouri
  • Kansas
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Circuit
  • U.S. District Court, District of Kansas
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri
  • U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas
  • U.S. Court of Federal Claims

Professional Memberships and Certifications

  • Earl E. O’Connor American Inn of Court
  • Kansas Bar Association
  • Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association
    • Appellate Practice Committee
    • Federal Courts Advocates Section
  • The Missouri Bar
  • Ross T. Roberts Trial Academy, 2015-2016


The Hon. Duane Benton, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit, 2012-2013

  • Successfully represented Farmobile in briefing and oral argument before the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, securing affirmance of summary judgment on all counts in trade-secret dispute.
  • Secured favorable verdict for the family of a deceased Marine veteran in a wrongful death action against the U.S. Veterans Administration.
  • Represented leading national insurance regulatory organization with regard to amicus briefing in the Supreme Court of the United States dealing with health insurers' claims for outstanding Risk Corridor payments under the Affordable Care Act.
Alerts | September 16, 2018
Department of Education Close to Releasing Proposed Title IX Regulations

As several media outlets have reported and is being widely discussed on social media, the Department of Education (ED) appears to be in the final stages of issuing a notice of proposed rulemaking related to Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972.

Alerts | September 10, 2018
Court Gives Respondents Greater Process Protection In Sexual Assault Cases Turning On Credibility

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit recently held that the University of Michigan violated a male student’s right to procedural due process when it did not allow him to cross-examine his female accuser in a university sexual-misconduct hearing.  

Articles | March 29, 2018
Justice for All: 2017 Pro Bono Report
News Releases | August 19, 2020
Husch Blackwell Scores Eighth Circuit Win for Farmobile in Trade Secret Dispute

The earlier court ruling granted summary judgment to Farmobile.

Media Mentions | September 20, 2019
Mizzou News: A Precedential Decision
News Releases | November 14, 2018
Thomson Reuters' Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers and Rising Stars 2018 Names 58 Husch Blackwell Attorneys

Husch Blackwell has 58 attorneys in the 2018 edition of Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers and Rising Stars.

Media Mentions | October 24, 2018
Missouri Lawyers Weekly 2018 Up & Coming Pro Bono Honorees: Christina M. Pyle and Michael T. Raupp

Christina Pyle and Michael Raupp are profiled as Missouri Lawyer's Weekly 2018 Up & Coming Pro Bono honorees.

News Releases | September 13, 2018
Missouri Lawyers Weekly Names Three Husch Blackwell Associates to 2018 ‘Up & Coming' List

Missouri Lawyers Weekly has named Tanya Maerz, Christina Pyle and Michael Raupp to its 2018 Up & Coming List.

Media Mentions | August 31, 2018
Missouri Lawyers Weekly: Missouri Lawyers Media to honor 45 with Up & Coming Awards

Tanya Maerz, Christina Pyle and Michael Raupp are named 2018 Up & Coming Lawyers by Missouri Lawyers Media.

Media Mentions | July 03, 2018
Kansas City Star: Court Slaps VA With Damages After Finding It Liable In Suicide Of Kansas City Veteran

Husch Blackwell represented the family of a deceased U.S. serviceman in their lawsuit against the VA.

News Releases | April 13, 2018
Kansas Bar Association Honors Husch Blackwell Lawyers with Pro Bono Award

Firm recognized for its representation of the family of a deceased U.S. veteran in a wrongful death action against the U.S. government.

News Releases | March 07, 2018
Husch Blackwell Prevails for U.S. Veteran's Family in Pro Bono Wrongful Death Suit

Husch Blackwell successfully represented the family of a deceased U.S. serviceman in their lawsuit against the VA.

Media Mentions | February 26, 2018
Law360: Family Of Veteran Who Committed Suicide Wins Med Mal Trial (log-in required)

Husch Blackwell successfully represented the family of a deceased U.S. serviceman in their lawsuit against the VA.

Media Mentions | November 16, 2017
The Missouri Bar: MoveMakers & NewsMakers 11/16/17

The Missouri Bar Association highlights Mary Pat Carl's arrival at the firm and the team of Husch Blackwell lawyers who won the 2017 August Steinhilber Award for “Best Brief” from the Education Law Association (ELA).

Media Mentions | November 16, 2017
The Missouri Bar: MoveMakers & NewsMakers 11/16/17
Community Leadership
  • Centurions Leadership Program, Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce, Class of 2019
  • Kansas City Hospice, Young Ambassadors, 2016-2018; Foundation, Board of Directors, 2019
  • Operation Breakthrough, Leadership Council, 2012-present

Stay updated.

Subscribe to receive Husch Blackwell’s news and insights.

Select your preferences