Skip to Main Content

Joe has extensive experience in state and federal historic rehabilitation credits, as well as state and federal New Markets Tax Credits (NMTC).

In this capacity, Joe works with developers, lenders, bridge lenders, syndicators, community development entities, investors and other businesses on tax credit finance transactions across the country. Joe provides intelligent and efficient leadership in closing complex deals.

In his practice, Joe handles everything from initial structuring concerns to the negotiation of business and legal issues throughout a transaction. He also manages post-closing issues and ongoing tax credit compliance requirements. His substantial experience includes the development and redevelopment of projects ranging from office and retail properties in low-income communities to community facilities, hotels, factories and grocery stores. 

Joe’s thoughtful leadership enables clients to successfully accomplish their goals of maximizing both tax benefits and investment returns.




  • J.D., University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law
      • Order of the Coif 
      • Valedictorian
      • Missouri Law Review, Associate Editor, 2008-2009
  • B.A., Truman State University
    • summa cum laude
    • Political Science
      • Phi Beta Kappa
      • Valedictorian


  • Missouri
  • Illinois

Professional Associations and Memberships

  • The Missouri Bar
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Advised investor on multiple state and federal New Markets Tax Credits transactions to finance store developments nationwide by a major grocery chain.
  • Represented a community development entity in a $20 million development for a federally qualified health center in Hawaii.
  • Counseled investor on a federal historic tax credit transaction rehabilitating a historic building in downtown Minneapolis into a hotel.
  • Advised lender on providing bridge loans in transactions involving historic tax credit and low-income housing tax credits.
Community Leadership
  • Carondelet Leadership Academy, 2011-2014; President, 2012-2014