Skip to Main Content

Kirk has been a member of the Texas Senate since 2007. His law practice focuses on commercial litigation.

Throughout his legal career, he has represented families, physicians, businesses and some of Texas’ major universities in a variety of disputes and transactions. He is also a mediator and involved in negotiation of a variety of business transactions. He is a highly recognized speaker on a range of legal and economic development topics, having addressed business and political leaders at public policy forums across the United States and internationally.

Kirk’s priorities center on education, healthcare, economic development, 21st Century energy generation, environmental protection, transportation, budget transparency, and state employees.

Texas Monthly Magazine has recognized Senator Watson as one of the Ten Best Legislators and has positively mentioned him in each of its biennial evaluations since his election. It named him Legislative Rookie of the Year after he was elected in 2006. He served as Mayor of Austin from 1997 to 2001. From 1991 to 1993, Kirk served as Chair of the Texas Air Control Board, the state agency that was charged with addressing air quality in Texas. He also has served as Chair of both the Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce and the Texas Advisory Board of the Environmental Defense Fund.


  • Baylor University Meritorious Achievement Award, Medal of Service
  • American Heart Association, Heart of Honor Award
  • American Electronics Association, Texas Technology Champion
  • Amerigroup Foundation and the Austin Children's Shelter, Champion for Children Award
  • Austin Chronicle reader’s poll, Best State Legislator
  • Baylor University, Outstanding Alumnus Award
  • Caritas of Austin, Harvey Penick Award for Excellence in the Game of Life
  • Clean Air Force of Central Texas, Salute for Outstanding Leadership
  • Dennis Quaid Charity Weekend in Austin, Star for Austin's Children Award
  • State Bar of Texas, Presidential Citations
  • Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Texas Interfaith Power & Light, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Texas Municipal League, Distinguished Legislative Award
  • Texas PTA, Legislative Advocate of the Year
  • Texas Public Power Association, Public Officials Award


  • J.D., Baylor Law School
    • cum laude
    • Baylor Law Review, Editor-in-chief
  • B.A., Baylor University
    • magna cum laude


  • Texas
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Texas
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
  • U.S. Supreme Court

Professional Associations and Memberships

  • American Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division, Texas representative
  • American Law Institute, Member
  • State Bar of Texas, Executive Committee; Committee on Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters, Chair
  • Texas Young Lawyers Association, President